LERA 70th Annual Meeting, June 14-17, 2018, Baltimore, MD
Preconference Day – June 13, 2018
Hilton Baltimore, 401 West Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, USA


Shaping the Future of Work

Challenges, Opportunities and New Models

Registration • Hotel  Program Preconference Special Tours Special Events
Jr Faculty Consortium
Student Consortium Participant Info Program Committee

Plan now to attend the LERA 70th Annual Meeting, June 14-17, 2018 in Baltimore at the Hilton next to Camden Yards!  What do you get? Baseball, crab cakes and 4 days  of intense learning and skill building at over 80 workshops, sessions, and more than 250 diverse presenters from every community focused on “the world of work.”
Build your networks with managers, unions, researchers, public policy and agency staff from throughout the US and abroad.  Return home value added for your organization and your job.
Take part in practical workshops, join debates on the latest applied research topics and hear from experts on how their companies, organizations, and unions have successfully navigated workplace issues critical to success.


Catherine Pugh,
City of Baltimore Mayor
Dutch Ruppersberger,
U.S. Congressman MD 2nd Dist.

Special Events In Planning

Sponsored by:
The Martin and Laurie Scheinman Institute on Conflict Resolution,
Miles & Stockbridge, P.C., and
Abato, Rubinstein, and Abato, P.A.
Sponsored by:
Kahn Smith and Collins, P.A.
Labor History Tours, Led by Bill Barry:
• The 1877 Railroad Strike Walking Tour
(Camden Yards, B&O Railroad Museum, Irish Railroad Workers Shrine)
Federal Hill and Inner Harbor Walking Tour
(Federal Hill, Baltimore Museum of Industry)
Fells Point Walking/Water Taxi Tour
(Chartered Water Taxi to Chesapeake Dry Dock Co., Douglass-Myers Museum)
History and Achievements of the African-American Community in Fell's Point

Event Sponsors

Registration opens in 2018, earlybird closes March 25

Members and past presenters click HERE to register.
First-time attendees click HERE to register.
Registration opens online on February 1, 2018. All participants and attendees must register, including speakers and discussants (chairs, panelists, presenters, speakers, discussants, etc.). Those who pre-register by the earlybird registration deadline of March 25, 2018 will receive a discount. Online registration will be open through June 7, 2018. After that, onsite registration will be offered at the LERA headquarters hotel, the Hilton Baltimore, beginning June 14, 2018. Registration will open at 7am on the opening day of the conference and at 8am on the second, third, and fourth day of the conference. Many (most!) of the meals and special events are included in the price of your registration, including breakfasts, luncheons, and the Welcome Reception.
Conference Registration Pricing

Schedule of Events, Program and Presenters' Index

The program committee is currently accepting session proposals, papers and posters for consideration to include in the program. They will meet in December 2017, and announce the full program in January 2018. To submit a session idea, please visit the open Call for Proposals here: https://lera.memberclicks.net/70th-lera-call

The complete Program and Presenters' Index will be found released here in 2018: http://leraoffice.org/drupalinclude/program.asp.

Hotel Accommodations

All LERA meetings will be held at Hilton Baltimore, located at 401 W Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21201, United States. You can reserve** your hotel accommodations online at the negotiated rate of $169 per night. Reservations cutoff is May 22, 2018 to guarantee block pricing, but only until the room block fills up (which it has on several nights):

Group Name:  check back
Group Code:  check back
Call-in #:  check back
Web-link:  check back

LERA 20th PhD Student Consortium

The LERA 20th Annual PhD Student Consortium will be held in conjunction with LERA's 70th Annual Meeting, and is chaired by Duanyi Yang and Alex Kowalski (MIT), Yao Yao (Univ. of Toronto), Brandon Grant (Univ. of Illinois). The event will be held on Saturday, June 16, 2018, 8:15 - 11:30 am with other events continuing throughout the day. To register for this event, you must first register for the meeting, and indicate on the registration form that you plan to attend the PhD Student Consortium. For program and complete information, please visit: http://lera.memberclicks.net/phd-student-consortium-2018. You will be able to RSVP for this event when you register for the conference.

LERA 3rd Annual Junior Faculty Consortium

The LERA 3rd Annual Jr. Faculty Consortium will meet Saturday, June 16 2018 in the afternoon, and is chaired by Sean Rogers of Cornell University. You will be able to RSVP for this event when you register for the conference. For program and complete information, please visit: https://lera.memberclicks.net/jr-faculty-consortium-2018.

Participant Information

If you are participating in this meeting as a session chair, paper presenter, a panelist, a speaker, a discussant, or poster presenter, there is information that you will need to refer to here throughout the next several months, and after the meeting is complete. For complete details, visit: https://lera.memberclicks.net/lera-70th-am-participant-information-2018

Transportation from Airport

The MARC Train and the light rail stop across the street from the hotel.

Transportation in Baltimore

Free Charm City Circulator (Bus): http://www.charmcitycirculator.com/

Program Committee

A special thanks to the LERA Program Committee for their work over the past year to develop the LERA 70th Annual Meeting program. Find the Call for Proposals connected to this meeting here.

LERA 70th Annual Meeting Program Committee (2017/2018)


Harry C. KatzHarry C. Katz, Cornell University (left)Kris Rondeau
LERA President and Program Co-chair

Kris Rondeau, AFSCME (right)
LERA President Elect and Program Co-chair

Danielle van Jaarsveld, Univ. of British Columbia - Academic Vice Chair
Jeff Wheeler, US Department of Labor - Practitioner Vice Chair
Ezio Borchini, Arbitrator/Mediator
- Baltimore Vice Chair

Program Committee:

John Amman, IATSE Local 600
Allison Beck
Alex Colvin, Cornell University
David A. Petersen, NAA/LERA Liaison
Bill Dirksen, Ford Motor Company
Jon Donehower, Kaiser Permanente
Cyndi Furseth, Portland Gas & Electric
Jody Hoffer Gittell, Brandeis University
Sally Klingel, Cornell University
Nick Krachler, Cornell University
Lynda Lee, FMCS
Leo McCann, American Train Dispatchers Association
Christine Newhall, AAA
Arthur Pearlstein, FMCS

Baltimore LERA Chapter Leaders:

Heather Heilman, Kahn Smith
Maryland LERA President
Daniel Altcheck, Miles Stock Bridge
Maryland LERA President Elect
Christy Yoshitomi, FMCS

Ex-officio Members of
Program Committee:

Janice Bellace, Univ. of PA
LERA Past President
Ariel Avgar, Cornell University
LERA Editor-in-Chief
Craig Olson, University of Illinois
LERA Secretary/Treasurer
Ryan LaMare, University of Illinois,
LERA Poster Session Chair
William Canak, MTSU
NCAC Chair

Registration • Hotel  Program Professional Workshops PreConf Tour Special Event
Jr Faculty Consortium
PhD Consortium Participant Info Program Committee