James G. Scoville Best International Paper Award

James G. Scoville Best International Paper Award

Sponsored by LERA and University of Minnesota's Center for Human Resources and Labor Studies 
Cash Prize: $500


The Scoville Best International Paper Award offers a cash prize to the international and comparative employment issues paper designated by referees as the “most outstanding.” The Award was established in conjunction with the Center for Human Resources and Labor Studies at the University of Minnesota to honor retiring professor and long-time member of the LERA, James G. Scoville.

We invite LERA members to nominate colleagues’ papers – whether written by faculty, students, researchers or researcher/practitioners – for this award. Eligible papers include those published in print during the calendar year prior to the LERA Annual Meeting, were presented at the LERA@ASSA or LERA Annual Meeting in the calendar year prior, or are on the program for the upcoming LERA Annual Meeting. The Award and $500 cash prize is presented at the LERA Annual Meeting, during the General Membership Meeting and Awards Ceremony.


  • Papers on international and comparative employment issues will be considered, including those with empirical material on employment issues from two or more countries, that examine transnational employment-relations phenomena, or that make theoretical contributions using empirical material from a single country with implicit international comparisons.
  • Papers may be authored by faculty, students, researchers, and researcher/practitioners who are LERA members.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.
  • Eligible papers include those published in print during the calendar year prior to the LERA Annual Meeting. Journal articles published online only or available in working paper form will be considered for the calendar year in which they appear in the paper version of the journal.
  • The committee will also consider papers presented at either the LERA@ASSA or the LERA Annual Meeting during the prior calendar year, including Competitive Papers and any International / Comparative tracks. Example...to be awarded as a winner in the 2023 competition, eligible papers would have been presented in 2022. 
  • To accept this award, at least one author must be a LERA member.


Nominations should be made at the LERA website electronically and must include full contact information and either an electronic copy of the paper or link to a free website version. Submissions should be entered on or before the above deadline.



Chunyun Li
Chunyun Li
London School of Economics


2021: "Spillover Effects across Transnational Industrial Relations Agreements: The Potential and Limits of Collective Action in Global Supply Chains"
Scoville Award Winners
authored by , and 

2020: "Rethinking precariousness and its evolution: A four-country study of work in food retail"
Sean O'Brady
Sean O'Brady, McMaster University

2019: "Economic integration and state responses: Change in European industrial relations since Maastricht"

Guglielmo Meardi, University of Warwick

2018: "Locating the Local and National in the Global: Multi-Scalar Political Alignment in Transnational European Dockworker Union Campaigns" authored by Katy Fox-Hodess, University of Sheffield
Katy Fox-Hodess

2017: Employer Association Responses to the Effects of Bargaining Decentralization in Australia and Italy: Seeking Explanations from Organizational Theory
not pictured not pictured  
Peter Sheldon
University of New South Wales
Raoul Nacamulli
Università di Milano -Bicocca
Francesco Paoletti
Università di Milano -Bicocca
David Morgan
University of New South Wales

*We changed how our awards are dated - they will now be dated the year in which the award is presented. This change makes it look as though no awards were given in 2016

Valeria Pulignano
Katholieke University
Jasmine Kerrissey
University of Massachusetts

  • 2014 (presented in 2015) - not awarded
  • 2013 (presented in 2014) - not awarded
  • 2012 (presented in 2013) Mark Anner, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2011 - Hiroshi Ono, Texas A&M University
  • 2010 - Virginia L. Doellgast, London School of Economics
  • 2009 - Lowell Turner, Cornell University