LERA Fellows

LERA Fellows


Honoring Scholars and Practitioners
The LERA Awards Committee has announced a call for nominations for the Award designation "LERA Fellow". The LERA Fellows Award is to recognize scholars and practitioners who have made contributions of unusual distinction to the field and have been in the profession and field for longer than 10 years.

The selection committee for the Fellow scholar title considers contributions from all disciplines such as Industrial Relations, Labor Law, Economics, Human Resources, Business, Sociology, Political Science, and Organizational Behavior. For practitioner Fellow nominations, the committee considers professionals from a labor, management, neutrals or other perspective for election.

LERA Fellows Awardees were first inducted in 2009 and five scholars and five practitioners were named inaugural fellows. The LERA Awards Committtee continues to name as many as three scholars and three practitioners each year as LERA Fellows. Awards are given during the LERA General Membership Meeting and Awards Ceremony each year at the LERA Annual Meeting.

Nominations should be submitted for the LERA Fellows Awards by January 15.



Academic Fellows in 2020: LaFevor, Weil, Abraham, and Mitchell

Kim LaFevor David Weil Katharine Abraham Daniel J.B. Mitchell
Kim LaFevor
Athens State University
David Weil
Brandeis University
Katharine Abraham
University of Maryland

Daniel JB Mitchell
University of California-LA

Practitioner Fellows in 2020: White and Cohen

Burton White

 Jonathan Cohen
Plosia Cohen LLC


Academic Fellows in 2019: Budd, Cutcher-Gershenfeld, Appelbaum, and Lewin

John Budd Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld Eileen Appelbaum David Lewin
John Budd
Univ. of Minnesota
Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld
Brandeis University
Eileen Appelbaum
 David Lewin
Practitioner Fellows in 2019: Pruitt, Herrnstadt, Benson, and Summers
Jim Pruitt Owen Herrnstadt Fran Benson Bonnie Summers
Jim Pruitt
Kaiser Permanente
Owen Herrnstadt
 Frances Benson
ILR Press at Cornell 
Bonnie Summers
Blue Cross Blue Shield. NLO


Academic Fellows in 2018: Bain, Bruno, Olson & Voos
Trevor Bain Bob Bruno Craig Olson Paula Voos
Trevor Bain
University of Alabama
Bob Bruno
University of Illinois
Craig Olson
University of Illinois
Paula Voos
Rutgers University
Practitioner Fellows in 2018: Furseth, Marschall, and Wheeler
Cyndi Furseth Dan Marschall Jeffrey Wheeler
Cynthia Furseth
Daniel Marschall
Jeffrey Wheeler
Georgetown University


Academic Fellows in 2017: Holley, Reich, and Eaton
William H. Holley, Jr.
Auburn University
Michael Reich
University of California
Adrienne Eaton
Rutgers University
Practitioner Fellows in 2017: Cousens, Dirksen, and Shea

Mark Cousens

Bill Dirksen
Ford Motor Company
Mary Ellen Shea
Mediator / Arbitrator


*We changed how our awards are dated - they will now be dated the year in which the award is presented. This change makes it look as though no awards were given in 2016

2015 Practitioner Fellows:
Marcia L. Greenbaum
Marlene Heyser
Workplace Law Strategies
Eric Mooshegian
International Union of
Operating Engineers


2015 Academic Fellows:

Roy Adams
McMaster University

Lisa Blomgren Amsler
Indiana University Bloomington
Teresa Ghilarducci
The New School
Morris Kleiner
University of Minnesota


2014 Practitioner Fellows:

  • Erich J. (Pete) Stafford, The Center for Construction Research and Training
  • Robert Pleasure, North America's Building Trades Unions
  • John S. Gaal, Carpenters' District Council of Greater St. Louis & Vicinity

2014 Academic Fellows:

  • Edward Lazear, Stanford University,
  • Russell Lansbury, University of Sydney
  • Greg Bamber, Monash University

2013 Practitioner Fellows:

  • Marty Mulloy, Ford Motor Co. (ret.)
  • Robert Taylor, Journalist and Researcher
  • Elizabeth Shuler, AFL-CIO

2013 Academic Fellows:

  • David Card, University of California, Berkeley
  • Janice Bellace, University of Pennsylvania
  • Daniel B. Cornfield, Vanderbilt University

2012 Practitioner Fellows:

  • Robert L Chiaravalli, Strategic Labor and Human Resources, LLC
  • John Stepp, Restructuring Associates, Inc.
  • Rachel Hendrickson, NEA (ret.)

2012 Academic Fellows:

  • Ronald G Ehrenberg, Cornell University
  • Lisa Lynch, Brandeis University
  • David Metcalf, London School of Economics

2011 Practitioner Fellows:

  • Scot Beckenbaugh, FMCS
  • Sarah Fox, AFL-CIO
  • F. Donal O'Brien, Arbitrator

2011 Academic Fellows:

  • Morley Gunderson, University of Toronto
  • Rosemary Batt, Cornell University
  • Harry Katz, Cornell University

2010 Academic Fellows:

  • Orley C. Ashenfelter, Princeton University
  • Marianne A. Ferber, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Hoyt N. Wheeler, University of South Carolina

2010 Practitioner Fellows:

  • Stephen R. Sleigh, The Yucaipa Companies
  • Wilma B. Liebman, National Labor Relations Board

2009 Academic Fellows:

  • Sanford M. Jacoby, UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • David B. Lipsky, Cornell University Scheinman Institute on Conflict Resolution
  • Henry S. Farber, Princeton University Industrial Relations Center

2009 Practitioner Fellows:

  • Nancy Peace, Arbitrator/Mediator
  • Gladys Gershenfeld, Arbitrator
  • Anthony T. Oliver, Parker Milliken Clark O'Hara and Samuelian

2008 Inaugural Scholar Fellows:

  • Francine Blau, Cornell University
  • Richard Freeman, Harvard University
  • Arne Kalleberg, University of North Carolina
  • Bruce Kaufman, Georgia State University
  • Thomas A. Kochan, MIT

2008 Inaugural Practitioner Fellows:

  • Sara Adler, Mediator/Arbitrator
  • Bonnie Castrey, Mediator/Arbitrator
  • Sheldon Friedman, AFL-CIO
  • Eileen Hoffman, FMCS
  • Arnold Zack, Arbitrator