LERA 72nd Annual Meeting Virtual 2020

meeting webhead

LERA 72nd Annual Meeting, June 13-16, 2020, (Sat.-Tues.), Virtual

Social, Economic, and Environmental

Sustainability and the World of Work

Register Here

Virtual Conference Platform

Registration •  Program Student Consortium Jr. Faculty Consortium
Organizations Speakers Program Committee  • Participant Information Sponsors

For the first time, LERA will meet virtually in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Although we will miss out on many of the one-of-a-kind conference experiences, this format will open doors for those who have not been able to attend the Annual Meeting in person. Our session organizers are currently adjusting their session format and planning new and creative ways to meet, share, and connect. The conference will still take place over the same four-day span, but some of the program schedule may change to accommodate meeting online. Conference registration has been reduced to less than half of the original price when the event was planned to take place in Portland, Oregon.

We invite you to join in, and bring your co-workers ... even if, or especially if, you have never been able to attend in the past! We are currently building new tools that will assist us in connecting online (discussion boards, virtual libraries, connection platforms) that will help us to continue to network with each other, share up-to-date research and best practices from top professionals and scholars. Meet other managers, union leaders, researchers, and public policy and agency staff from throughout the U.S. and abroad, and in doing so, increase you value for your organization and your job.

The program will still feature practical workshops, debates on the latest applied research topics, and experts on how their companies, organizations, and unions have successfully navigated workplace issues critical to success.

Click HERE to register

Registration is open. All participants and attendees must register, including speakers and discussants (chairs, panelists, presenters, speakers, discussants, etc.). Online registration will be open through the last day of the conference, June 16, 2020.

Conference Pricing

LERA Member registration - $150
LERA Student/Apprentice member registration - $45
LERA Emeritus member registration - $100
Non-member registration - $200 

Schedule of Events, Program and Presenters' Index

The Preliminary Program and Presenters' Index will be found at:

Note: This schedule will be updated around the first of May after our organizers and program committee have an opportunity to review the new virtual meeting format.

 Featured Speakers

 John Mitchell, principal at M & H Economic Consultants and former U.S. Bancorp Chief Economist

Jacqueline Patterson, NAACP Environmental and Climate Justice Program


Hotel Accommodations

If you previously secured a guest room at the Hilton Portland Downtown, please do not forget to cancel your reservation. The hotel is aware rooms that were scheduled for the LERA 72nd Annual Meeting will likely be cancelled, but cancelling is your responsibility.

Central Reservations: 1-800-HILTONS (445-8667)
Group Name:
LERA 72nd Annual Meeting

LERA 22nd PhD Student Consortium

The LERA 22nd Annual PhD Student Consortium will be held in conjunction with LERA's 72nd Annual Meeting, and is chaired by
Wendy Long
, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; Yea Hee Ko, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Qian Zhang, University of Toronto; and Jacob Barnes, Rutgers University. The event will be held on Monday, June 15, 2020. To register for this event, you must first register for the meeting, and indicate on the registration form that you plan to attend the PhD Student Consortium.
For program and complete information, please visit: http://lera.memberclicks.net/phd-student-consortium-2020.

LERA 5th Annual Junior Faculty Consortium

The LERA 5th Annual Jr. Faculty Consortium will meet Monday, June 15, 2020, and is chaired by Tingting Zhang, Western New England University. You will be able to RSVP for this event when you register for the conference.
For program and complete information, please visit: https://lera.memberclicks.net/lera-72nd-am-5th-jr-faculty-consortium-2020.

Participant Information

If you are participating in this meeting as a session chair, paper presenter, a panelist, a speaker, a discussant, or poster presenter, there is information that you will need to refer to here throughout the next several months, and after the meeting is complete.
For complete details, visit: https://lera.memberclicks.net/lera-72nd-am-participant-information-2020

Organizations Represented at this Conference Include

More information will be posted in the coming months; please check back.

LERA 72nd Annual Meeting Event Sponsors and Partners

Ford Motor Company
UAW/Ford National Partnership
Kaiser Permanente
Labor Management Partnership, Kaiser Permanente
American Arbitration Association
Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

Cornell University, School of Industrial and Labor Relations
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management / IWER
Pennsylvania State University, School of Labor and Employment Relations
Rutgers University, School of Management and Labor Relations
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, School of Labor & Employment Relations
Florida International University
University of Toronto, Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources

Program Committee

This event has been made possible by the work of the LERA Program Committee over the past two years to develop all aspects of this meeting. Please join us in thanking these dedicated volunteers when you see them in Portland!
(Find the Call for Proposals connected to this meeting here.)

LERA 72nd Annual Meeting Program Committee (2019/2020)

Adrienne Eaton, Rutgers University (left)
LERA President-Elect and Program Chair

Ann Frost, University of Western Ontario - Academic Vice Chair
Bonnie Summers, BCBS NLO - Practitioner Vice Chair
Cyndi Furseth, Portland General Electric (ret.) - Regional Vice Chair

Program Committee:

Ezio Borchini, Arbitrator/Mediator
Michael Brown, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Georgia
Alex Colvin, Cornell University, ILR School
Charles Cookson, First Energy Corporation
Bill Dirksen, Ford Motor Co.
Thomas Dungy, DTE Energy
Valerie Harragin, Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service
Maite Tapia, Michigan State University
Duanyi Yang
Bill Lavezzi, LERA-neo
Adam Litwin, Cornell University
Mingwei Liu, Rutgers University
Marick Masters, Wayne State University, School of Business
Leo McCann, American Train Dispatchers Association
David Turner, First Energy Service Corporation
Mark Winters, SW PA LERA Chapter and Arbitrator

Portland LERA Chapters Leaders:

Cyndi Furseth, PGE (ret.)
Lisa Hartrich, Washington PERC
Jonathan K. Uto, Kaiser Permanente
Jonathan Donehower, Kaiser Permanente
Julie Kettler, FMCS
Adrinne R. Kumud, Kaiser Permanente
Burton White, Arbitrator/Mediator

Ex-officio Members of 
Program Committee:

Ryan Lamare, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
LERA Editor-in-Chief
Andrew Weaver, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
LERA Secretary/Treasurer
Andrew Weaver, University of Illinois
LERA Poster Session Chair
William Canak, MTSU
NCAC Chair

Registration • Program  
Jr Faculty Consortium
PhD Consortium Participant Info Program Committee