John T. Dunlop Scholar Awards


The LERA Awards Committee has issued a call for nominations for LERA awards to recognize outstanding academic contributions to research by recent entrants (must have received terminal degree within last 10 years) to the field. One award will recognize the research contribution of an academic for the best contribution to international and/or comparative labor and employment research. A second academic award will recognize the best contribution to research that addresses an industrial relations/employment problem of national significance.

Letters of nomination accompanied by vitas or substantial accounts of the accomplishments of the nominee should be submitted no later than January 15, and winners will be notified in the Spring shortly thereafter. Awardees will be recognized at the LERA Annual Meeting.



 Emily Twarog  Christian Ibsen
Emily Twarog,
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
national recipient
Christian Ibsen,
Michigan State University
international recipient


John McCarthy,
Cornell University
national recipient
Jonathan Booth,
London School of Economics and
Political Science
international recipient


Maite Tapia
J. Adam Cobb
UTexas Austin
national recipient
Maite Tapia
Michigan State Univ.
international recipient


Alan Benson Dan Gilbert Tobias Schulze-Cleven
Alan Benson
University of Minnesota-
Twin Cities
Daniel Gilbert
University of Illinois
at Urbana-Champaign
Tobias Schulze-Cleven
Rutgers University


Dionne Pohler
University of Toronto
Victor Tan Chen
Virginia Commonwealth

*We changed how our awards are dated - they will now be dated the year in which the award is presented. This change makes it look as though no awards were given in 2016

John-Paul Ferguson
Stanford University
National Recipient
Xiangmin "Helen" Liu
Pennsylvania State
International Recipient

Aaron Sojourner
University of Minnesota
National Recipient



  • Adam Seth Litwin, Cornell University, National Recipient
  • J. Ryan Lamare, Pennsylvania State University, National Recipient
  • Mingwei Liu, Rutgers University, International Recipient


  • Ariel Avgar, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, National Recipient
  • Matthew Bidwell, University of Pennsylvania, International Recipient
  • Chris Riddell, Cornell University, International Recipient


  • Jake Rosenfeld, University of Washington, National Recipient
  • Virginia Doellgast, London School of Economics, International Recipient


  • Rebecca K. Givan, Cornell University
  • Jesse Rothstein, University of California, Berkeley


  • Betsey Stevenson, University of Pennsylvania
  • Mark S. Anner, Penn State University


  • Jon Guryan, University of Chicago
  • Ian Greer, Leeds University


  • Alexandre Mas, University of California Berkeley
  • Nicholas Bloom, Stanford University


  • Adriana Kugler, University of Houston
  • David S. Lee, Princeton University


  • Marianne Bertrand, University of Chicago
  • Armin Falk, IZA


  • David H. Autor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Rafael Gomez, London School of Economics


  •  Kevin Hallock, Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Jody Hoffer Gittell, Brandeis University


  •  Alex Colvin is the undergraduate officer of the Department of Labor Studies and Industrial Relations at Penn State University. His research interests include: labor and employment law, dispute resolution, collective bargaining, human resource management.
  • John Logan is a lecturer at the London School of Economics, Industrial Relations Department, and is working on Post Doctoral research at the University of California-Los Angeles.
  • Frits Pil is an Assistant Professor at the Katz Graduate School of Business and a Research Scientist at the Learning Research Development Center at the University of Pittsburgh.


  •  Lucio Baccaro, International Labour Organization
  • Michael Belzer, Wayne State University
  • Carola Frege, Rutgers University
  • Ann C. Frost, University of Western Ontario


  •  Larry W. (Chip) Hunter is an Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin at Madison in the School of Business, Department of Management and Human Resources. His previous position was Assistant Professor in the Department of Management at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
  • Saul A. Rubinstein (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, industrial relations and management; M.B.A., Ed.M., Harvard University) focuses his research on the impact of changes in work organization on firms and unions. In particular he has studied intra- and inter-organizational coordination as well as the new forms of firm governance and co-management that have resulted from joint labor-management efforts to transform industrial relations and work systems. He is the associate director of the SMLR Center for Workplace


  •  Rosemary Batt, Cornell University, national recipient
  • Peter Berg, Michigan State University, international recipient


  •  Christopher Erickson, UCLA


  •  Kate Bronfenbrenner, Cornell University
  • John W. Budd, University of Minnesota