Susan C. Eaton Scholar-Practitioner Award

Susan C. Eaton Scholar-Practitioner Award


The LERA has established an award in honor of Susan C. Eaton, scholar and practitioner and LERA member who passed away in December 2003. To learn more on her work, read an article by Susan C. Eaton (PDF).

The award is given annually to a member of the Association who has achieved distinction as both a practitioner and a scholar in our field. Letters of nomination accompanied by vitas or substantial accounts of the accomplishments of the nominees should submitted by January 15 each year. Winners will be notified in the Spring and recognized at the LERA Annual Meeting.


Lance Compa
Lance Compa, Cornell University


Steven Greenhouse
Steven Greenhouse, Journalist


Jeffrey Waddoups
C. Jeffrey Waddoups
University of Nevada-Las Vegas


Saul Rubinstein
Rutgers University
Matthew Finkin
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Mark Anner
Mark Anner
Penn State University


Janice Fine
Janice Fine
Rutgers University


Erica Groshen
Former Commissioner
of Labor Statistics

*We changed how our awards are dated - they will now be dated the year in which the award is presented. This change makes it look as though no awards were given in 2016

David Weil
US Department of Labor
Boston University


2014, Harry Katz, Cornell University

2013, Randy Eberts, W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research

2012, Katharine G. Abraham, Council of Economic Advisors

2011, Daniel J.B. Mitchell, UCLA

2010, Samuel Estreicher, New York University School of Law

2009, Lawrence F. Katz, Elisabeth Allison Professor of Economics, Harvard University

2008, Alan B. Krueger, Bendheim Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Princeton University

2007, Lisa Lynch, Dean and Professor of Economics, Brandeis University

2006, Peter Feuille, Professor and Director Emeritus, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2005, Christian Weller, University of Massachusetts, Boston

2004, Eileen Appelbaum, Professor and Director, Rutgers University